The World Cultural Heritage of the UNESCO

The UNESCO (United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization) situated in Paris was founded in 1945 in London as a suborganisation of the UNO. 150 states are member of the UNESCO. It’s her task to further cooperation, to give everyone access to education and culture, to enforce human rights and to raise the educational level.

In December 1975 the international „Convention concerning the Protection of World Educational and Natural Heritage“ came into force which aims at the preservation of our global nature and of the cultural heritage of all peoples. For this purpose the UNESCO listed up all archeological places and natural parks which are worth preserving. Apart from the hororable title the respective national administration will be obliged to save the World Heritage. Otherwise the recognition can be rescinded.

At it’s 11th setting in December 1987 the 21 members of the committee included Lübeck’s historical town in the World Heritage List. Now Lübeck shares this honorable title with the Palace of Versailles, the islands of Galapagos and the Egyptian Pyramides and the Dome of Karl the Great in Aachen. In the World Heritage List can be found another hanseatic building: The German Bridge („Tyske Bryggen“) in Bergen (Norway) which was one of the four trading stations in addition to London, Brügge and Novgorod since 1753 (see the History of the Hansetown Lübeck).

Quelle: Broschüre UNESCO-WELTKULTURERBE Hansestadt Lübeck - Tausend Jahre lebendige Kulturgeschichtete, hrsg. vom Amtes für Lübeck-Werbung und Tourismus, Beckergrube 95, 23552 Lübeck, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Amt für Denkmalpflege und dem Amt für Vor- und Frühgeschichtete.